Main navigation

Staff Directory

  • Reset
Madrona ~ Attendance
Julia Afuso

Afuso, Julia

Developmental Preschool Teacher

jmafuso@seattleschools.org

(She/Her/Hers) This is my fifth year teaching developmental preschool at Madrona. I love teaching alongside my team to support our youngest learners to be successful in and out of the classroom. I enjoy working at Madrona, especially collaborating with the entire community.

 

Mary Avery Kabrich

Avery Kabrich, Mary

Psychologist

mhkabrich@seattleschools.org
Lori Badruswamy

Badruswamy, Lori

Music Teacher

lsbadruswamy@seattleschools.org

(She/Her/Hers) I am excited to celebrate my sixth year at Madrona and tenth year of teaching elementary general/choral music in the Seattle Public Schools. I have a Master’s Degree in Music Education, as well as Bachelor’s degrees in music performance and music education. I also have Kodaly certification from Seattle Pacific University and NYU, Orff-Schulwerk certification from Hofstra University, and Dalcroze Eurythmics training from Julliard. Lastly,  I love living in the Northwest with my husband Shiva, 8 year old daughter          Sienna,  5 year old daughter Naomi, and 14 year old dog Sammy.

Brooks, Tonya

Culinary Services

Carlisle, Yolanda

Special Education Asst/ISE - 203/7

ytcarlisle@seattleschools.org
Regina Carter

Carter, Regina

Principal

recarter@seattleschools.org

(She/Her/Hers) I am a culturally responsive and equity driven administrator who loves to read, celebrate students, and uplift her community.

Cole, Dan

Health Care Services

dlcole@seattleschools.org

(She/Her/Hers) I work at Madrona doing Covid communications and contact tracing. I also assist with recess supervision and literacy intervention. In my free time I play for Seattle Rugby club and love getting out in nature. My favorite thing about Madrona elementary is the warm community that has welcomed me to my first job at a Seattle school!

 

Courney, Shannon

Special Education Teacher-Resource

shcourney@seattleschools.org
Maria Davis

Davis, Maria

1st Grade Teacher

msdavis@seattleschools.org
Claire Engelhard

Engelhard, Claire

1st Grade Teacher

caengelhard@seattleschools.org

(She/Her/Hers) This is my first year teaching 1st grade at Madrona. I previously taught kindergarten for four years at Madrona. I love teaching at Madrona because of the amazing, courageous, and unique students, families, and staff that make up our community.

Siraj Gemeda

Gemeda, Siraj

Bilingual Instr Asst -203/7

smgemeda@seattleschools.org

Grove, Zelda

Kindergarten Teacher

zmgrove@seattleschools.org

(She/Her/Hers) I have been at Madrona since 2021 and have taught Second Grade and Kindergarten. I hold a Master’s in Teaching from the University of Washington and have been working in education for almost 10 years. I love to read and bring that love of reading to my students. I love working at Madrona because the Central District has been my home since I moved to Seattle and Madrona students, families, and staff are welcoming and caring.

Ebony Hall

Hall, Ebony

Administrative Secretary

emhall@seattleschools.org

My name is Ms. Ebony and I am the new Admin Secretary here at Madrona. This is my second school year term, and my first year as a Admin Secretary. I am looking forward to building strong relationships with my fellow baby Panthers. Ensuring your kiddos feel safe and comfortable with me while at school is my number one goal. I am looking forward to an exciting journey with your kiddos as they grow through Madrona.

Julia Hansen

Hansen, Julie

Reading Interventionist/ Levy Coordinator

jchansen@seattleschools.org

(She/Her/Hers) I have been part of Seattle Public Schools for over 20 years and have taught at Madrona for over 10 years.  Over the 20 + years I have taught both Special and General Education students from Pre-K to 8th grade.  I love working at Madrona because of the diversity of families, the sense of community, and I learn something new every day from our amazing students!  Madrona is also special to me as my own kids went here, and we are still connected to the Madrona community we were part of during their time here.

King, Taylor

3rd Grade Teacher

taking1@seattleschools.org

Locke, Pheshay

Kindergarten Teacher

pllocke@seattleschools.org

Lopez, Melissa

4th Grade Teacher

melopez1@seattleschools.org

(She/Her/Hers) Melissa Lopez has been a teacher for 20 years in New York City, New Orleans, and now Seattle. She graduated with Honors from NYU and is now back in school to earn her doctorate in education. Ms. Lopez loves singing, dancing, theater, and teaching all subjects (but especially ELA, drama, and science)!

Lorsung, Ashely

MLL Teacher

allorsung@seattleschools.org

Lubong, Gilbert

Custodian

gglubong@seattleschools.org